Strange Prison

by Astral Swans

  • Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    Beautiful LP-only release of Astral Swans' second album.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Strange Prison via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      €15 EUR or more 


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Beautiful digipak version of the Astral Swans album.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Strange Prison via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 4 days
    4 remaining

      €8 EUR or more 


  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €6 EUR  or more


Blow Away 04:08
Controls 02:58
General Rule 02:33
I Belong 02:48
Excess 02:08
End Song 02:20


TR025 - Tiny Room Records 2018

Astral Swans’ sophomore album Strange Prison is a spellbinding portal into the psyche of acclaimed Calgary songwriter Matthew Swann. As the first artist signed to Arts & Crafts affiliate label Madic Records, his 2015 debut All My Favourite Singers Are Willie Nelson was described by NOISEY as “a stark, beautiful project; one that embraces darkness rather than shying away from it.” Strange Prison (due out May 2018 from Calgary’s Saved By Vinyl, Tokyo’s Moorworks, and Netherlands label Tiny Room Records) continues this philosophical searching with both morbid humour and compassionate character studies. Co-produced with Preoccupations’ Scott Munro, Dan Mangan, and Paul Chirka, recording engineer for the Calgary Philharmonic Orchestra, the result is Swann’s most sonically exploratory and emotionally resonant release to date.

Proglog Afterglow: “well-thought-out, beautifully arranged music”
The Fire Note: “Matthew Swann’s quirky blend of lo-fi melancholic folk rock stays with you long after the album finishes playing”
Here Comes The Flood: “by using psychedelic electronics and dissonants Swann builds the walls of his own refuge - the proverbial prison serving as a means to get away from the outside world, creating his own universe with its own fair share of monsters”
De Subjectivisten: “a sublime album, on which there is much to experience”
In De Ban Van: “intriguing”
WoNo Magazine: “Astral Swans will draw you into its world and make it a little better along the way”
Keys and Chords: “with Strange Prison he digs even deeper into the complexity of humanity and reveals with psychedelic 60s, 70s and 90s experimental folk”
Krenten Uit De Pop: “the Canadian has delivered a rough diamond that will shine brighter and brighter as time passes”


released May 18, 2018

All songs written by Matthew Swann.

Produced by Scott Munro, Paul Chirka, and Matthew Swann (except tracks 2 and 10 produced by Dan Mangan).

All songs mixed by Paul Chirka at The Department of Creativity and Mischief, except for tracks 2 and 10 mixed by Dan Mangan at National Park Studios.

Mastered by Harris Newman.

Artwork and design by Gabriel Alan Collins.

All vocals and instrumentation by Matthew Swann, except the beautiful contributions from the following collaborators:

Dillon Whitfeld: backing vocals on 1, 2; drums on 6, guitar on 10
Sarah Groot: vocals and keys on 2, 10
Paul Chirka: organ on 1, 7, 9, 11; backing vocals on 1, strings on 7
Joe Ramirez: drums on 3, 7, 8, 9, 11
Distance Bullock: drums on 3, 9, 11
Rena Kozak: vocals on 3, 12
Scott Munro: keys on 3, 5, 8, 12; guitar on 4
Sarah Tigerwing: vocals on 5
Christina Milinusic: theremin on 6
Chris Vail: guitar on 1, 11
Dan Gaucher: drums on 2, 10
Dan Mangan: backing vocals, piano, bass synth on 2


all rights reserved



Tiny Room Records Utrecht, Netherlands

Tiny Room Records is a Dutch record label for underground artists, with a focus on experimental indie rock, lo-fi, noise, ambient, folk, slowcore, shoegaze, etc.

contact / help

Contact Tiny Room Records

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Tiny Room Records recommends:

If you like Strange Prison, you may also like: